Airport Administration

We love Southwest Wyoming. Our team says living and working in this part of the country is ideal. If you see one of us in the terminal, please say hello. We like to learn more about the people who use the airport to connect to loved ones, business, and adventure!

Devon Brubaker, A.A.E.

Devon Brubaker is originally from Lancaster County, PA and began serving as Airport Director in May 2015. In total, Devon has over 19 years of Airport Management experience. He is an Accredited Airport Executive by the American Association of Airport Executives. He has a Bachelor of Science degree from University of Dubuque and a Master of Aeronautical Science degree from Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University. He was named the Wyoming Airports Coalition Airport Executive of the Year in 2017 and 2021. Devon is a graduate of the Leadership Wyoming Class of 2022. Devon serves the community and industry in several capacities beyond his duties to the Airport. He currently serves as the President of the NW Chapter of AAAE, Vice-President of the Wyoming Airports Coalition, President of the Ray Lovato Recycling Center, Chairman of the Sweetwater Economic Development Coalition, Vice-Chair of the AAAE Finance & Administration Committee, and Chair of the Wyoming Airports Coalition Legislative Affairs Committee.

Shannon Lucero, C.M.

Shannon Lucero is originally from Salt Lake City and has over 11 years of Airport Administration experience here. She serves as the Airport Director in Devon’s absence and is responsible for financial reporting, accounting, grants administration, and human resources for the airport. She joined the Southwest Wyoming Regional Airport in April 2011 and became a Certified Member of the American Association of Airport Executives in November 2017.

Our Board of Directors

The Rock Springs-Sweetwater County Airport Board is a Joint Powers Board comprised of local leaders appointed by the City of Rock Springs and Sweetwater County. Three board members are appointed by the Sweetwater County Board of Commissioners and two are appointed by the City of Rock Springs Council. Members serve five-year terms and are eligible for up to two full terms.

Board Meetings are generally the 3rd Wednesday of each month at 8:00 am. These meetings are held in the Airport Administration Office Conference Room in the Commercial Terminal unless otherwise noted. 

Note: During the Commercial Terminal Modernization Project, meetings will be held at Sweetwater Aviation.

2024 Meeting Schedule
January 17, 2024
February 21, 2024
March 20, 2024
April 17, 2024
May 15, 2024
June 19, 2024
July 17, 2024
August 21, 2024
September 11, 2024 (2nd Wednesday due to schedule conflict)
October 16, 2024
November 13, 2024 (2nd Wednesday due to schedule conflict)
December 18, 2024

Chief James Wamsley

Appointed by City of Rock Springs
Member Since: 2013
Term Expires: 6/30/2027

Dr. Peter Jensen

Appointed by Sweetwater County
Member Since: 2017
Term Expires: 6/30/2024

Mr. Matt McBurnett

Appointed by the City of Rock Springs
Member Since: 2021
Term Expires: 6/30/2026

Mr. Pete Rust

Appointed by Sweetwater County
Member Since: 2018
Term Expires: 6/30/2025

Mr. Sean Valentine

Appointed by the Sweetwater County
Member Since: 2022
Term Expires: 6/30/2028

Latest Board Meeting agenda
Minutes from some of our latest meetings
Archive Minutes

Disadvantaged & Minority Businesses

Serving one of Wyoming’s most diverse regions. The Rock Springs-Sweetwater County Airport Board hereby announces its proposed Disadvantaged Business Enterprise (DBE) participation goals for FFY2025 - 2027. More information can be found here:

FFY2025 - 2027 DBE Goal Public Notice

Economic Impact

Every dollar invested returns many fold. Some people are surprised how even our small state relies on aviation and aviation infrastructure. Every package delivered, every new business that locates here, every forest fire battled and health emergency met, requires aviation. Watch this video to learn more.

Frequently Asked Questions

Here are answers to the questions we hear most.

If you don’t see your question here, just call or send us an email. Or fill out your question below.

Airport History

While it’s not quite Kitty Hawk, the role of Rock Springs and Sweetwater County in the story of aviation in America is surprisingly significant.

Brief aviation history in Sweetwater County

World War I and the decades after were an exciting time in aviation. In 1927, Charles A. Lindbergh made a meteoric rise to fame with his non-stop solo flight across the Atlantic. Amelia Earhart, the most famous female aviator of the era, stopped at the Rock Springs airport in 1932 during a transcontinental flight in a gyroplane.

As the nation grew understandably and increasingly fascinated with flying, Sweetwater County was no exception. Rudy Stefoin, John Gosar and Leonard Hay all owned and flew planes in the area. Curly Powell ran a flight charter service out of Sweetwater County. This region saw the growth of air races and the arrival of the first airmail service.


Reducing costs with one of Wyoming’s most plentiful resources. Southwest Wyoming Regional Airport was the first and continues to be the only airport in Wyoming using the power of the sun to reduce emissions and expenses.

In 2017 Rocky Mountain Power’s Blue Sky Program awarded the Southwest Wyoming Regional Airport a grant to cover 85% of the cost of our new 25 kW solar farm. This solar farm is expected to produce 60% of the electric demand of the airport’s new General Aviation Terminal & Hangar Complex, Airport Fire House and General Aviation Aircraft Apron and Vehicle Parking area lighting.

The project was completed in early 2018 by Creative Energies of Lander, WY. You can monitor the energy production and usage through the link above. We would like to thank all of RMP’s Blue Sky Customers who have helped make this project successful.